Idris Elba Almost Died While Filming ‘Beasts Of No Nation’.

Idris Elba has revealed he had
a close shave with death while shooting his latest film, Beasts Of No Nation.

This is what he had to say; “I nearly died,” Elba reportedly said
on The Jonathan Ross Show . “We
decided to do this waterfall scene
where all these child soldiers were
walking behind this massive
waterfall. Cary Fukunaga, the director, decided to shoot it for real.”

Elba had played the role of Commandant in the
movie, leading a rebel group of soldiers in an
African nation.

“We went to this waterfall and in
this scene my character is standing
there watching all the child soldiers
go past,” Elba continued. “Now in the setup of that, the stunt
coordinator says, ‘Listen everyone,
this is a waterfall, that’s a 90-, 100-
foot drop down there and the ground
is very slippery, just be careful!’ I
put my foot on this rock… [and] it’s slippery, obviously. I slip … I put my
hand on this tree — it’s not a tree,
it’s a branch. It snaps and I go
literally about six feet before I go
bang over and I got caught by the
security guy.”

Leave a Reply

