Busta Rhymes Explains How He Became Good Friends With Fetty Wap.

Busta Rhymes has absolutely no plans to retire. The 43-year-old
MC is playing ringmaster this
weekend at Hot 97’s winter fete,
Hot For The Holidays, and has
recruited a pretty insane lineup of
his friends to perform with him. An abbreviated list of guests includes Puff Daddy, Lil Kim, Mary J. Blige, Lil Wayne, French Montana, Method Man, Red Man, and the
empress of Christmas herself,
Mariah Carey. But over the phone before a
rehearsal, Busta tells The FADER
that show should not be confused
as some sort of going away party,
it’s more of a “reset button” for a
second stage of his 25-year career. “This is the most fun part of this
shit—when you got 25 years of
information that you can apply,” he
said. “It’s like, you have a project
and you’ve got all of the fucking
cheat codes. I’m living in great pleasure of whooping a lot of ass
out here when I drop my shit next
year!” He also added that next year will
be the first year he’s eligible for
the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
and that 2016 marks the 20th
anniversary of his first solo album, The Coming. One person that’s sure to be invited to any of his parties is Fetty Wap, who is also performing at the concert this Saturday. He’s
easily the most green performer on
a the roster and that’s no accident,
as Busta explains. Their friendship
comes from a place of great
respect. Find out the surprising way of how
the two became friends below and
watch out for Busta’s album when
it drops next year.

BUSTA RHYMES: I love Fetty Wap’s music because that
motherfucker did it his own way!
He believed in himself so much
and his team, in how sure he was
about his music. He put out an
album with just him and his guys. Not one superstar outside of him
and his immediate crew. He’s the
only superstar in his crew as of
right now, but he set up a platform
for himself and his guys to turn the
rest of his crew into superstars. He made sure that he did it in a way
that would put him and his team on
the map, so that his team would
have a platform strong enough for
themselves to be able to
springboard off of his talent. There’s nobody on that album who’s
outside of his immediate circle and
that’s very impressive because
there’s not too many new artists
who are brave enough to do that. I
respect that, so that’s number one. Number two, I fell in love with the
brother even more so providing a
college graduation party for my
older son who was 3 years old in
the “Woo Hah!” video in 1996. Now he’s 22 years old with a
college degree in business
marketing. I reached out to Fetty
Wap with a request from my son
for him to perform. He came
through and delivered with no red tape, no hassle, no confusion. It
was so beautiful the way he came
through and stepped up to the home
plate. I got to acknowledge The
LOX for doing the same thing,
Jadakiss, they did the same thing. I gotta acknowledge Swizz Beatz.
All three of these entities came out
for my son’s college graduation
party I threw for him at Space
Ibiza in Manhattan. It was just
such a proud father moment for me to see my friend and my allies to
come out for my child. At the time, me and Fetty’s
relationship was young. But I met
the brother few months ago at a
function out of town, I think we
were doing Allstar Weekend in
February and me and him had an interesting conversation when I
first met him. It was a random
moment. “Trap Queen” was
popping like crazy, and I wanted to
give him some encouragement, a
little information that I felt that he should know. That shit just felt
good and he was just embracing
me, taking in the information that I
was sharing with him! Him and his
crew, it was incredible the energy,
vibe, temperament, and mannerisms. Something that was
supposed to be a brief discussion
ended up becoming an extended
dialogue. They just made it very easy and
comfortable and made me grow
respect for him. We established a
genuine friendship. And that’s the
reason why Fetty Wap is the only
new rapper on the lineup. It’s a genuine friendship and he was
available. I got a lot of new
genuine friendships with a lot of
the new MCs, but God bless him,
they’ve been busy moving and
shaking. That’s what we all ask for when we get involved with this
shit, to be able to be busy and get
money and leave a stain on the
industry. We start carving and
shaping this legacy from the
beginning! With that being said about Fetty
Wap, that’s the reason why he’s on
this show. I’m very proud of him
and I love what he stands for and
represents with his whole team.

Leave a Reply

